## MINUTES OF A HIGHWAY, ROAD, AND BRIDGE MEETING OF THE COUNTY OF HANCOCK, STATE OF ILLINOIS, HELD AT THE COUNTY COURTHOUSE IN CARTHAGE ON JUNE 27, 2024

The meeting was called to order by chairman Dennis Castlebury at 8:30 a.m. Members in attendance included Tom Rodgers, Mark Menn, Mark Turner, Alex Blythe, Wayne Bollin, Patsy Davis, and Mark Harrison. Elgin Berry was also in attendance.

Mr. Berry presented the engineer's report. He recommends acceptance of the low bid of the upcoming bid opening for the Rocky-Run/Wilcox Township Road. The bid opening is on July 3. He will present numbers at full board on July 16, 2024. Mr. Blythe made a motion to accept the low bid, Ms. Davis seconded. All members present voted aye.

The Connable Road project will begin on July 8, 2024. Ms. Davis asked to have a groundbreaking and pictures on July 5, 2024, at 9 a.m. at the westerly end of the Ferris blacktop. The Road Commissioners for Montebello and Sonora, Norine Hammond, and Candy Harnetiaux will be contacted. This will be held as a special board meeting.

Mr. Bollin made a motion to accept the engineer's report, Mr. Blythe seconded. All members present voted aye.

There was discussion regarding how half aid works between townships and the county. Mr. Berry will email the board members a copy of the statute. Mr. Menn asked if there was a problem with the West Point blacktop. Mr. Berry stated one of his employees has inspected the road on Saturday and Sunday. The heat and traffic causes the road to bleed.

Claims were gone over. Ms. Davis motioned to approve the claims with Mr. Blythe seconding the motion. A roll call vote was taken with all members present voting "yes". Motion carried.

Mr. Menn stated the him and Mr. Bollin will meet with the county clerk, treasurer and assessor prior to the finance meeting to discuss property taxes.

Motion to recess until July 30, 2024, was made by Mr. Bollin, seconded by Mr. Turner. All members present voted aye. Meeting adjourned at 9:13 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dennis Castlebury, Committee Chair